The much-maligned app Color did a promo event Sunday evening in conjunction with the New York premiere of “Water for Elephants,” a movie starring Reese Witherspoon and, more importantly, Robert Pattinson. He’s the dreamy Twilight vampire who makes the girls go gaga online. Color, which tries to create live social networks based on photos you take, has revamped itself and I thought it was time to give it a second look. Then I came across this report on computerworld.com about Color using the microphone on your phone to listen for certain sounds:

Color uses your iPhone’s or Android phone’s microphone to detect when people are in the same room. The data on ambient noise is combined with color and lighting information from the camera to figure out who’s inside, who’s outside, who’s in one room, and who’s in another, so the app can auto-generate spontaneous temporary social networks of people who are sharing the same experience.

Frankly, this doesn’t really bother me, but I know it will REALLY bothers privacy advocates. And I agree with one key point: Color should let users know this is occurring. Full disclosure is all I want. Then we can make informed choices. Now back to trying to figure out Color.

Color should have launched with an event like this movie premiere or a music festival, rather than how it did, which was to be unveiled in a vacuum (here’s some background from my prior post). The numbers at the top of the image above tell some of the the story: 49 people used Color to take 788 photos. However, a few accounts were taking the bulk of the photos. There was the official Color account:

And Jessica seemed to have a good inside view (the unwashed masses were kept behind railings):

So I decided to give Color another spin myself. I walked through Center City Philadelphia tonight hoping to make contact with another Color user. I walked through what is known as the Gayborhood hoping to find somebody else using Color. No luck, though I did see a guy touting himself as the “Candy Man.” He should get on Color. Or maybe not.

