I have finally watched that Rebecca BlackFriday” video on YouTube. I tried twice before, and twice I failed to make it to the end. But this time, I was on a mission. I was looking for the “that girl in pink who dances awkwardly.” She shows up doing this arm-waving thing somewhere in the middle of the video. When I watched the video, it had 1,737,421 “dislikes” versus 221,111 “likes.” It is the most disliked video on YouTube. Yet, some people can’t seem to get enough of it. When I started watching it at 12:06 a.m., it had 86,823,286 views. I checked again at 12:16, and the view count had jumped to 87,132,524. In 10 minutes, the video had been viewed 300,000 more times. I’m not going to trash the song or video. It’s sung by a 13-year-old girl. I was interested in Benni Cinkle, the other 13-year-old girl, who is basically an extra. But when you appear in a video with this much attention, weird things happen.


First of all, she has her own video answering all the burning questions. Does she know Rebecca? Yes, they go to school together. Does she like Justin Bieber? “I really, really, really love Justin Bieber,” she replied. What’s up with her braces? They should be coming off soon. How long is her driveway? It’s 128 feet long. Why does she dance weird in the video? The producers told her to be silly and weird. She’s also a vegetarian. Her “FAQ” video has more than 460,000 views. It has about 6,300 likes and 400 dislikes. She has a Facebook page with 14,000 likes (apparently there was one created by someone else that generated at least 83,000 likes, but that is gone and Benni has her official page now). She has her own website capitalizing on the “Friday” video. She has a flash mob video. And she has a free ebook she calls her “Internet Survival Guide.” It addresses cyber-bullying because she has been the target of many nasty comments, which is probably the case with everyone else associated with the video. But, like Rebecca Black, she’s still a kid. And her likes outnumber her dislikes.

