I took the above iPhone photograph wearing a glove. I have conductive pads on my gloves’ two index finger tips and right thumb. They’re called Digits and they are sold through Quirky, a site where people can get their product ideas “socially developed” through a community of designers. The Digits box I got in the mail says the inventor is Brian Shy of Chicago. Bottom line: Digits work on an iPhone…most of the time. It’s cold and miserable here in Philadelphia and I sometimes have to work outside and need to use my iPhone. Touchscreen technology requires that you use bare fingertips. The contact between the skin and glass is what makes the technology work. There are a fair number of gloves on the market that cater to iPhone and other touchscreen users. Some allow you to bare your finger tips. Other feature special material at the finger tips to make the iPhone work with exposing your hands. They range in price from $18 to upwards of $200. The $18 version by Agloves has received largely rave user reviews on Amazon. Quirky sells Digits for $13.99. I decided to try Digits because I have a pair of thin gloves that I like wearing. I broke my first Digit out of the bag because I didn’t know they were screwed – not snapped – together (I didn’t look at the instructions first – my bad). It was a bit tedious attaching them. But once they were secure, I was wearing gloves and typing text messages and emailing photos, like the one above. I did have a problem working the iPhone camera interface. I don’t know why the screen wouldn’t respond. I had to switch to a camera app to take pictures. Don’t know what I’ll do about video. Maybe I’ll just shoot everything using 8mm Vintage Camera.

Below is a video demonstrating some of the materials science behind Digits:

