Apple just reported its 10 billionth download from its iOS App Store, which launched in 2008. That got me to thinking about my life with apps. My first iPhone was the 3G and that’s when the App Store opened. My first “wow” moment was with the Shazam app, when I was driving and heard a song on the radio and wanted to know the name and artist. Running the risk of a rear-ending another car, I turned on my iPhone and opened the Shazam app and about 10 seconds later – Shazam! – I found out it was Daft Punk and “Harder Better Faster Stronger.” My first less-than-wow moment was after I tried one of the light saber apps. I waved the phone around and made the light saber sound from Star Wars. That was good for about 30 seconds of amusement. Over time, I’ve learned that the best apps are either very useful or great time-wasters. Catapulting birds at fortresses built by pigs has turned out to be one of the best ways to waste time. Now there’s talk about Angry Birds being turned into an animated series. The greatest App success story so far is the “Twitterverse” that has been created around Twitter. Android phones have the Android Market. But Apple is simply way out front of everybody in this game and it is one of the best reasons to have an iPhone (or iPod Touch or iPad). To celebrate the 10 billionth download, I downloaded the TextPics app so I can now send text bunnies to all my good friends. For only 99 cents, you get a lot of bunnies. ❀

