Adrian Chen of the Gawker blog Valleywag has an amusing post about a 4chan meetup at a bar in Brooklyn on Jan. 14. A little bit of the history between 4chan and Gawker is explained, but what struck Chen was how “normal” everyone was:

People slowly accreted around the table, and there were maybe 30 or 40 by the time 4chan’s 22-year-old founder, Chris “Moot” Poole, showed up. Moot lives in Manhattan, where he’s currently working on a new start-up called Canvas Networks. He was instantly swamped by fans. A Filipino guy next to me freaked out: “In all of my 23 years, this is the first time I’ve ever met a celebrity!” He had come all the way from Connecticut, where he works at Dunkin’ Donuts.

Well, I assume the true weirdos wouldn’t show up at a bar in Brooklyn. They were online in their basements.

“When I was growing up, my parents often warned me not to open the basement doors. “Never open the basement doors!” they said again & again. One day, I DID open the basement doors, and I saw the most amazing things – trees, our back yard and the sky!” – Emo Philips

